The Chronicles of Narnia

Since The Chronicles of Narnia were written by C. S. Lewis over 50 years ago and have been read by millions I’m not sure what I have that I could add to these books, but I’ll give it a try.

When my son was in the sixth grade he had a requirement that he had to read every night for his middle school reading class. Since he wasn’t an avid reader he had no idea what to read so I bought him the boxed set of The Chronicles of Narnia. Two years later my daughter also had the same class and she read them as well.

Two months ago I needed a book to read while on a trip and my bookshelf held no new books for me to read so I decided to give The Chronicles of Narnia a try.

I really enjoyed these books, maybe it’s because I haven’t grown up myself. I liked the adventure, the unknown and the parallels with Christianity. These were all books that I had a hard time putting down; I wanted to see what the next chapter brought and what the next book brought.

I think I may have enjoyed the books more than my children did. I’m not sure why this is, whether it is their age or that they don’t yet see the parallels with Christianity the same way that I do. We’re not a family of The Lord of the Rings or Harry Potter so the whole fairy tale and magic thing are rather new to us.

Each book is not lengthy so combined with the desire to see what was on the next page and the short length it doesn’t take long to read them.

I’ve also read elsewhere that there is a debate on the order the books should be read in. I read them in the order from first to last rather in the order they were published. Some say that they should be read in the order that they were published. I had no qualms reading them chronologically and didn’t know there was another way to read them until after I had already read them. If you read them chronologically (ordered one through seven) you will read them in the order of the story, if you read them as they were published then you will not know what some of the things in the latter stories mean and some folks think this is better. I’m not so sure this is better for everybody. My wife read The Lion, The Witch and the Wardrobe alone and said that she didn’t understand some of it. I think this is because she had not read the story from the beginning. I’m sure this would be different for everyone. In my wife’s case, she needed to read them in chronological order and she would have better understood. She wasn’t looking to read a story that she had to figure out, she just wanted to read, understand and enjoy the story. Some folks, on the other hand, like to have to try to figure things out.

One other interesting thing about reading these books was the timing that I read them. Just before reading The Chronicles of Narnia I had finished reading Heaven. Now, reading about Narnia in these books seemed to make Heaven come even more to life for me.

I would recommend that you read The Chronicles of Narnia no matter what age you are and if you are an older Christian they may even come alive to you like they did for me.

The Chronicles Of Narnia include:
The Magician’s Nephew
The Lion the Witch and the Wardrobe
The Horse and His Boy
Prince Caspian
The Voyage of the Dawn Treader
The Silver Chair
The Last Battle

The Chronicles of Narnia

Read another review of The Chronicles of Narnia here.

Return from The Chronicles of Narnia to the Avid Christian Book Reviews Page.